Being SMART in 2012

I’m generally not a jargon type person. But I have been thinking about goals for 2012 of late. I have got alot of things I want to do and see. But in 2012 I want to put alot of effort into two things.

1. My weight

Specific: I need to lose about 44kgs (sheesh) to get to a healthy weight range.

Measurable: Umm see above.

Achieveable: 44 /52 = just over 800 grams per week. Do I think it’s achievable? yes and no. That’s alot to consistently lose over 12 months. The recommeneded is 500g-1kg per week, and on average it’s 500g.

Realistic: I think it is more releatic to aim for 600g on average per week, and anything more is a bonus. Basically the weight needs to come off, it has for a long time, and with the PCOS it’s going to be additionally harder, but not impossible.

Time based: 600g per week is around a 30kg loss over the next 12 months.

Now the plan is…

I’ve signed up for Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation Programme starting on February 13, they have a prep stage that starts on January 16th.

I should point out, I’m not giving up on weight watchers, I just want to try something different – it’s the same it’s still calories in calories out, but I just need to change things up a little. Plus I wanted a programme that I had to do the hard work for too. My aim for those 12 weeks is to lose 15kg, I’m going at it 110% and will be interested to see the results.

I’ve joined a local gym, and signed up for a bootcamp starting January 9th (Well I’ve sent them an email – hoping they still have a spot!)

I’ll be talking a little bit each month about how my weight loss efforts are going, but most of it will be done here.

2. My finances.

Specific: I want to get rid of all my debt, excluding my student debt in 2012.

Measurable: Around $7000 none of it is interest bearing. And no, none of it is from my Japan trip or the move here. I saved up for those, whilst still paying down the debt in 2011.

Achievable: This is entirely dependent on my salary, which at the moment is fluctuating because I am temping. I may have the opportunity to begin a contract role in February which would keep me employed until my visa expired at the end of 2013. It will most likely pay less than what I earned in NZ, but it will be a consistent pay cheque, reasonable working hours, and I think it is the smart choice – if it goes that way. The market here is VERY tight.

Realistic – I’ve made a budget based on all my current expenses plus any other ones I may need to think about, and savings. I have a friend who is an accountant that goes through this with me, so I’m not underestimating stuff, but also so I still have money to do things I want to do. I am willing to work harder at it this year, to more money to free up beyond 2012. At the moment I can commit to paying off $3000 over the year. Any additional money I make over that threshold will also go into my repayments.

Time based: 12 months $3000 any additional money I earn, or get back in tax, goes into to paying off more.

Now the plan is…

I kind of feel like I am repeating myself here.

  • Make sure my budget is realistic.
  • Keep up my savings goals – 14% of whatever I earn in each paycheque.
  • Any additional money that I earn either via a higher salary or freelance work, will go into paying off the debt.
  • I will update how things are going about once a month, and will keep a tally going on the sidebar too.

I don’t own a credit card, it is great NOT having one.

My student debt isn’t interest bearing, and will be deducted from my salary when I return to Australia. That said, if I get a decent salary sooner than expected, I will start paying that off too. But only after the rest!

Do you have goals for the new year? Big or small? Dream big friends!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Being SMART in 2012

  1. kathryn says:

    If you want to combine your jobs, go to the “yes and yes” web site and check out her book on working holidays. there is a section about working planting trees in Canada. Good money and it’s got to be a calorie burner! I’ve been trying to convince my son to do it.

Leave a comment